Lateral Forces (Wind/Earthquake) Review Class

A comprehensive class covering the breadth and depth examination for both buildings and bridges.

  • The live Webinars for the Structural Engineer – Lateral Forces (Wind/Earthquake) Exam Review will be held on 12 Saturdays: July 13, 20, 27, Aug. 3, 10, 17, 24, Sept. 7, 14, 21, 28, and Oct. 5 – 2019.
  • Webinars will be held from 7:30am to 3:30pm (PT) – (10:30am - 6:30pm- ET).
  • Additional class lectures offered Tuesdays July 16, 23, 30, Aug. 6, 13, 20, and 27 - 2019, from 5:00pm - 7:00pm (PT) - (8:00pm - 10:00pm ET), and on Tuesday Sept. 10, 17, 24, Oct. 1, and 8 - 2019 from 5:30pm - 7:30 pm (PT) - (8:30pm - 10:30pm ET).   
  • Separate Breadth and Depth Sessions for Building and Bridge Modules. Please see Class Schedule below.
  • Webinars conclude with full Simulation Exam on Saturday Oct 12 - 2019 and Discussion of simulation exam solution on Tuesday Oct. 15 - 2019 from 5:00pm to 8:00pm (PT) – (8:00pm - 11:00pm- ET).
  • The class includes lectures, summary sheets for each component design, solved examples workshops.
  • Live Webinars are recorded and class participants have full access to the recorded webinars at no extra charge.
  • Handout materials including design notes, summary sheets, workshop questions and solutions. Class Binder will be shipped to class participants starting May 10, 2019.  
  • Registration fee is $1150.
        REGISTRATION FOR BOTH LIVE WEBINARS AND ON-DEMAND IS CURRENTLY OPEN
Date and Time (PST) Class Content
Saturday, Jul. 13, 2019
7:30 AM-3:30PM
Breadth: Analysis of Structures. Seismic Forces. Seismic Force Resisting Systems. Equivalent Lateral Force Analysis.
Tuesday, Jul. 16, 2019
5:00 PM-7:00 PM
Breadth:  Equivalent Lateral Force Analysis (Cont'd)
Saturday, Jul. 20, 2019
7:30 AM-3:30PM
Breadth: Equivalent Lateral Force Analysis (Cont'd)
Tuesday, Jul. 23, 2019
5:00 PM-7:00 PM
Breadth: Diaphragm Theory. 
Saturday, Jul. 27, 2019
7:30 AM-3:30PM
Breadth:  Diaphragm Theory (Cont'd). Non-Strucutral Components. Non-Building Structures.
Tuesday, Jul. 30, 2019
5:00 PM-7:00 PM
Breadth: Wind Deisgn Basic Parameters. 
Saturday, Aug. 3, 2019
7:30 AM-3:30PM
Breadth: Wind: Envelop procedure, Directional procedure
Tuesday, Aug. 6, 2019
5:00 PM-7:00 PM
Breadth: Wind: Components and Cladding.
Saturday, Aug. 10, 2019
7:30 AM-3:30PM
Breadth: Design of Wood Shear Walls and Diaphragms
Tuesday, Aug. 13, 2019
5:00 PM-7:00 PM
Breadth: Wood Connections
Saturday, Aug. 17, 2019
7:30 AM-3:30PM
Breadth: Masonry Structures: Flexural Compression Members, Slender walls,  Shear Walls, Anchorage to Walls. 
Tuesday, Aug. 20, 2019
5:00 PM-7:00 PM
Depth-Building: Wood and Masonry Buildings Essay Problems Workshop
Saturday, Aug. 24, 2019
7:30 AM-3:30PM
Depth-Building: Wood and Masonry Buildings Essay Problems Workshop
Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019
5:00 PM-7:00 PM
Depth-Building: Wood and Masonry Buildings Essay Problems Workshop 
Saturday, Aug. 31, 2019
7:30 AM-2:30PM
BREAK  
Tuesday, Sep. 3, 2019
5:30 PM-7:30 PM
BREAK
Saturday, Sep. 7, 2019
7:30 AM-2:30 PM
Breadth Buildings: Steel Structures:  Moment-Resisting Frames (Ordinary , Intermediate, Special)
Tuesday, Sep. 10, 2019
5:30 PM-7:30 PM
Depth Building: Essay Problems-Steel Moment Frame Buildings
Saturday, Sep. 14, 2019
7:30 AM-2:30 PM
Breadth Buildings: Steel Structures: Concentric Braced Frames (Ordinary, Special),  Eccentric Braced Frames, Light Gage/Cold Formed Steel: Metal Deck Diaphragms, Light Framed Wall Systems
Tuesday, Sep. 17, 2019
5:30 PM-7:30 PM
Depth Building: Essay Problems-Steel Braced Frame Buildings
Saturday, Sep. 21, 2019
7:30 AM-2:30 PM
Breadth Buildings: Concrete Structures: Shear Walls (Ordinary, Special), 
Moment-Resisting Frames (Ordinary, Intermediate, Special), Foundation and Retaining Structures.
Tuesday, Sep. 24, 2019
5:30 PM-7:30 PM
Depth Building: Concrete Buildings: Essay Problems
Saturday, Sep. 28, 2019
7:30 AM-2:30 PM
Breadth Bridges:  Wind Load, Seismic Requirements, Seismic Analysis, Seismic Details, Bridge Footings, Retaining Walls.   Abutments/Piers Seat Requirements
Tuesday, Oct. 1, 2019
5:30 PM-7:30 PM
Depth Bridges: Essay Problems-Bridge Columns
Saturday, Oct. 5, 2019
7:30 AM-4:30 PM
Depth Bridges:  Seismic Analysis/Design, Structural Stiffness, Seismic detailing, Moment-Curvature Analysis, Bridge Abutments.  Bridge Analysis-Essay Problems
Tuesday, Oct. 8, 2019
5:30 PM-7:30 PM
Depth Bridges: Essay Problems-Bridge Footings
Saturday, Oct. 12, 2019
7:30 AM-2:30 PM
Practice Exam – Breadth, Depth (Buildings, Bridges)
Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2019
5:00 PM-8:00 PM
Discussion of Practice Exam Solution

All times are shown in Pacific Standard Time.

  • On-Demand Webinars for the SE Lateral review, are based on the recordings for the Spring 2019 class.  New recordings for the Fall class will start July 13 - 2019 and uploaded weekly.
  • Over 75 hours of recorded lectures, quizzes, workshops and simulation exam. Content of the recording matches the Live Webinar Topics.
  • All Webinar Recordings and Problem Solving Workshops are available until Exam day, Oct 26 - 2019. 
  • The instructors are available, upon request, via one-on-one, online meetings, up to 5 meetings, 1-hr each to answer questions and elaborate on any topic of choice. The instructors are also available to answer questions via emails until Exam day. 
  • On-Demand Class participants have full access to the Live Webinars at no extra charge. Live Webinars start July 13, 2019.
  • Handout materials including design notes, summary sheets, workshop questions and solutions is currently being updated and will be ready for shipment to class participants starting May 10, 2019.



Enroll Now:

Lateral - Webinar
Lateral - Webinar

Structural Lateral Webinar

Price: $1,150.00
Lateral - On-Demand
Lateral - On-Demand

Structural Lateral On - Demand

Price: $1,150.00